Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Secretary's Office
Mirja Lohkamp-Schmitz

phone: +49 721 608-43316
fax: +49 721 608-43374
email: mirja lohkamp-schmitzMzf6∂kit edu

 

Mail Address

Institute of Applied Geosciences
Division of Mineralogy & Petrology

KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology,
Campus South

Kaiserstr. 12
76131 Karlsruhe
Germany

Visitor's Address

Institute of Applied Geosciences
Division of Mineralogy & Petrology

KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology,
Campus South

Adenauerring 20b, Building 50.40
76131 Karlsruhe

Mineralogy

Our research and education activities concentrate on mineralogical process and reactions in natural and technical systems. Based on the formation and modification of hard rocks, we study their chemical and mineralogical composition and the possibilities of their use as resources and materials.

Research is aimed at enhancing the understanding of the processes taking place in the Earth’s crust and using this knowledge for the needs of everyday life, for example in the area of properties of mineral materials. This requires on-site work as well as experimental studies and the transfer of this know-how to application-specific problems.

Being a close-to-application division of the Institute of Applied Geosciences, we study the influence of CO2 on the mineralogical composition and, hence, on the stability of fault zones in cap rock formations of underground CO2 stores under the joint project “CO2 impact on fault zones in cap rocks”.

In cooperation with KIT’s Research Sector and private industry, we strive for an optimized use of minerals as resources, for instance for mold construction, by specifically controlling mineralogical modifications and reactions and, hence, adapting technical properties to the needs of industrial application.

Successful exploration of mineral resources requires a broad understanding of the formation of these inventories. Among others, gold and non-ferrous metals, non-sulfide zinc metallization, and Fe-P-REE(U) reservoirs are studied in the field of deposit research. Our regional focus is lying on Iran at the moment.

Our teaching and research activities result in a number of contact points with other materials sciences and application.

Apart from teaching and research, our group is responsible for the conception and implementation of the “Applied Geosciences” bachelor and master programs introduced in 2006.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Sekretariat
Mirja Lohkamp-Schmitz

Telefon: +49 721 608-43316
Telefax: +49 721 608-43374
E-Mail: mirja lohkamp-schmitzMwd4∂kit edu

 

Postadresse

Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften -
Abteilung Mineralogie & Petrologie

KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie,
Campus Süd

Kaiserstr. 12
76131 Karlsruhe

Besucheradresse

Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften -
Abteilung Mineralogie & Petrologie


KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie,
Campus Süd


Adenauerring 20b, Gebäude 50.40
76131 Karlsruhe

Mineralogie

Wir befassen uns in Forschung und Lehre mit mineralogischen Prozessen und Reaktionen in natürlichen und technischen Systemen. Dabei betrachten wir basierend auf Entstehung und Veränderung von Festgesteinen, deren chemische und mineralogische Zusammensetzung und die Möglichkeiten ihrer Nutzung als Rohstoffe und Werkstoffe.

Ziel unserer Forschungen ist es, das Verständnis für die in der Erdkruste ablaufenden Prozesse zu mehren und dieses Wissen für die Belange des Alltags nutzbar zu machen, zum Beispiel im Bereich der Eigenschaften mineralischer Werkstoffe. Das setzt sowohl Geländearbeit als auch experimentelle Studien voraus und vor allem die Übertragung dieses Know-hows auf  anwendungsorientierte Fragestellungen.

Als anwendungsorientierter Fachbereich innerhalb der Angewandten Geowissenschaften in Karlsruhe befassen wir uns im Rahmen des Verbundvorhabens “CO2-Einwirkung auf Störungszonen in Deckgesteinen" mit der Einwirkung von CO2 auf die mineralogische Zusammensetzung und damit auf die Stabilität von Störungszonen in Deckgesteinsformationen unterirdischer CO2-Speicher.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe und der Privatindustrie streben wir nach optimierter Nutzung von Mineralen als Rohstoffe zum Beispiel für den Formenbau, indem gezielt gesteuerte mineralogische Veränderungen und Reaktionen zu gewünschten technischen Eigenschaften in der industriellen Anwendung führen.

Erfolgreiche Exploration für mineralische Rohstoffe erfordert ein breites Verständnis über die Entstehung dieser Vorkommen. Hierzu werden unter anderem Gold- und Buntmetalle, nichtsulfidische Zinkvererzungen und Fe-P-REE(-U) Vorkommen im Bereich der Lagerstättenforschung untersucht. Unser regionaler Fokus liegt dabei zur Zeit im Iran.

Daraus ergeben sich zahlreiche wichtige Berührungspunkten zu anderen Materialwissenschaften und damit zum anwendungsorientierten Bereich, in dem wir lehren und forschen.

Neben der Lehre und Forschung obliegt unserer Gruppe der Verantwortungsbereich für die Konzeption und Umsetzung des 2006 eingeführten BSc und des MSc Studienganges “Angewandte Geowissenschaften" in Karlsruhe.