Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Key research aspects

research image

Our applied and fundamental research couples different scales in the broad field of reservoir geology. Reservoirs are temporary or permanent, natural or man-made subsurface storage sites. These produce fossil energy and -raw materials, ground heat / geothermal energy, water, and store energy and other substances temporally or permanently.

We establish the anisotropy of the geological bodies and describe the variable rock properties caused by structural, sedimentary, geomagnetic and other geological processes. Outcrops, core from boreholes as well as mines of the quarry and pit industry are studied worldwide.

Our broad experience in the field of rock magnetics contributes to fundamental geological processes and well correlations. We thus contribute to a better understanding of georesources on the earth's surface and subsurface in terms of exploration and production.

Our key aspects are:

 

Geometry and Heterogeneities of Reservoirs & Quarries

Objectives:

Temporal and spatial changes of rock properties and hydraulic connectivity at reservoir scale, aided by regional 3D-subsurface models and reservoir quaility predictions. Tools: Subsurface data and field analogs and using ArcGIS, Eclipse, Igeoss, Petrel, TouchStone, Trinity, WellCad, 4DMove.

Improvement of contact-free analyses of fracture surfaces and mineralogical heterogeneities at quarry wall, cores, tunnels, caves to establish rock qualities and wall stabilities for optimized mining, stability, and a better understanding of 3D heterogeneities. Tools: terrestrial laserscanning, hyperspectral, UAV 

Digital models of 3D sedimentary bodies at outcrop scale, fracture networks and porosity-permeability variations in the field as basis for flow simulations. Tools: Laser scanning, image analyses using e.g. GoCad, Polyworks, Petrel.

Rock Magnetic Properties

We use rock magnetic methods for a lot of different scientific questions:
  • Correlation of lithology and magnetic susceptibility
  • Determination of the carriers of magnetic properties
  • Correlation with geological processes (magmatism, metamorphism, sedimentation) and understanding of geological processes (emplacement mechanisms, fluid-rock-interactions, ect.)
Examples of ongoing projects.

Microstructures & Geofluids

Objectives:

Interaction of pores, fracturing and diagenetic processes on a microscale, aided by transparent see-through microreactors and natural analogs. Tools: Petrography, cathodoluminescence, isotopes, self-developed microreactors, numerical simulations.

Analyses and quantification of nucleation processes, cementation rates and different crystal morphologies at core- & pore scale, using high-resolution imaging techniques and experiments. Tools: Petrography, cathodoluminescence, fluorescence, experiments, isotopes, poro-perm, WellCad.

Reservoir Utilization & Energy Systems

Objectives:

Portfolio-, process- and strategy analyses for energy-storage and -trading. Tools: CrystalBall, MiniTab, MS Project & Visio.

General process optimization and risk management. Tools: CrystalBall, MiniTab, MS Project & Visio.

Outreach

Objective: 

Dissemination of research and earth system processes.

Information on natural resources, reservoir management and subsurface storage.

Sharing knowledge with affiliated institutes in Arabia, Azerbaijan, Egypt, India, Morocco, Russia, USA and Tunisia

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Forschungsschwerpunkte

research image

Unsere anwendungs- und grundlagenbezogene Forschung verknüpft verschiedene Maßstäbe im breiten Feld der Reservoir-Geologie. Reservoire sind temporäre oder dauerhafte, natürlich oder durch den Menschen geschaffene Speicherräume im Untergrund, aus denen fossile Energieträger, Erdwärme/Geothermie, Wasser gefördert oder Energie, Schadstoffe zwischen- oder endgelagert werden.

Wir erfassen die geologische Anisotropie der geologischen Körper und beschreiben die Veränderungen von Gesteinseigenschaften durch strukturelle, sedimentäre, geomagnetische und andere geologische Prozesse. Unsere umfassende Erfahrung im Bereich der Magnetik dient der Erforschung fundamentaler geologischer Ereignisse und bohrlochgeophysikalischer Analysen und -Korrelationen. Damit tragen wir zu eine besseren Verständnis bei der Gewinnung und Nutzung von Georessourcen Untertage und an der Erdoberfläche bei.

Unsere Schwerpunkte sind:

Geometrie und Heterogenitäten von Reservoiren und Lagerstätten

Ziel:

Bestimmung zeitlicher und räumlicher Veränderungen von Gesteinseigenschaften und deren hydraulischer Zusammenhang im Reservoir-Maßstab mit Hilfe von regionalen 3D-Untergrundmodellen und Vorhersage über die Reservoirqualitäten. Hilfsmittel: Untergrunddaten und Aufschluss-Analoge unter der Verwendung von Software wie ArcGIS, Eclipse, Igeoss, Petrel, TouchStone, Trinity, WellCad, 4DMove.

Verbesserte kontaktfreie Analyse von Trennflächen und mineralogischen Heterogenitäten an Steinbruchwänden, Bohrkernen, Tunneln, Höhlen zur Bestimmung der Geinsteinsqualitäten und Wandsstabilitäten für optimierten Abbau, Standsicherheiten und besseres Verständnis der 3D Reservoirheterogenität. Hilfsmittel: terrestrisches Laserscanning, hyperspektral, UAV

Digitale 3D Modelle sedimentärer Körper im Aufschlussmaßstab, Störungsnetzwerke und Porositäts-Permeabilitätsveränderungen in Steinbrüchen als Basis für Flußsimulationen. Hilfsmittel: terrestrisches Laserscans, UAVs, Bildanalyse mit z.B. GoCad, Polyworks, Petrel.

Gesteinsmagnetische Eigenschaften

In unserer Abteilung werden gesteinsmagnetische Methoden für eine Vielzahl von wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen angewandt:
  • Korrelation von Lithologie und magnetischer Suszeptibilität
  • Bestimmung der Träger der magnetischen Eigenschaften
  • Korrelation mit geologischen Vorgängen (Magmatismus, Metamorphose, Sedimentation) und Verständnis von geologischen Prozessen (Platznahmemechanismen, Fluid-Gesteins-Wechselwirkung, etc.)
Beispiele für laufende Projekte hier

Mikrostrukturen und Geofluide

Ziel:

Bestimmung der Interaktion zwischen Poren, Störungen und diagenetischen Prozessen im mikrostrukturellen Maßstab, mit Hilfe von transparenten Mikroreaktoren und natürlichen Reservoir-Analogen. Hilfsmittel: Petrographie, Kathodolumineszenz, Isotope, selbstentwickelter Mikroreaktoren, numerische Simulationen.

Analyse und Quantifizierung nukleationshemmender Prozesse auf der Kornskala, Zementationsraten und verschiedene Kristallmorphologien auf Bohrkern- und Porenmaßstab mit Hilfe von hochauflösenden Bildtechniken und Experimenten. Hilfsmittel: Petrographie, Kathodolumineszenz, Fluoreszenz, Experimente, Isotope, Poroperm, Well-Cad.

Reservoirnutzung und Energiesysteme

Ziel:

Bestands-, Prozess- und Strategienanalysen für Energiespeicherung und -handel. Hilfsmittel: CrystalBall, Mini-Tab, MS Project & Visio.

Generelle Prozessoptimierung und Risikomanagement. Hilfsmittel: CrystalBall, Mini-Tab, MS Project & Visio.

Outreach

Ziel:

Öffentlichkeitswirksame Darstellung der Forschung von Erdsystemprozessen.