Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Prospective Students

Geosciences represent a wide and diverse discipline. Geoscientists help understand climate change, predict natural hazards or optimally use our dwindling resources. They plan and control supply with resources and energy, ensure stable construction of dams, roads, houses, and tunnels, or take care of groundwater protection, waste disposal, and contaminated sites.

Generally, geoscientists deal with the system Earth and concentrate on the complex processes below the Earth’s surface. Apart from basic scientific contents, engineering knowledge is conveyed during studies. Geoscientists frequently work in an interdisciplinary manner on topics of high environmental relevance.

Potential fields of work of geoscientists range from A aquatic geochemistry to Z zinc deposits. Also employers are very different. Often, geoscientists are employed by engineering and geological offices (about 25% of the graduates). About 20% work in the public service sector, i.e. at public offices and authorities. Another 20% of geoscientists work in industry and business (e.g. construction and resources industry). Another 12 to 13% of geoscientists find work at universities and research institutions. The remaining graduates, about 22%, are employed in other areas.

(Excerpt from "Jobs mit Geowissenschaft: Mehr als nur Steine klopfen", Stephanie Bissels)

 

Applied Geosciences at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

The consecutive bachelor’s/master’s program of “Angewandte Geowissenschaften” (applied geosciences) was introduced in the 2006/07 winter semester to replace the previous diploma programs of geology and mineralogy. It conveys broad and, at the same time, substantiated know-how in the geoscientific disciplines of geology, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, and geochemistry as well as hydrogeology, engineering geology, geothermal energy, and petrophysics. In addition, some neighboring disciplines, such as geophysics, geoinformatics, and geodesy, are covered by education. As the program is of mathematico-scientific character, basics in mathematics, physics, and chemistry are imparted during the first semesters. The master’s program provides students with the opportunity to specialize in the areas of hydro-/engineering geology, geoenergy/georesources or mineralogy /geochemistry.

Thanks to the wide range of subjects taught in lectures and tutorials as well as in practical laboratory classes, field exercises, and excursions in Germany and abroad, geoscientists graduating from KIT are able to independently conduct scientific research and to meet the high requirements in various areas in industry, authorities, research, and education institutions.

Prospective students are invited to contact the Fachschaft Geowissenschaften Karlsruhe (geosciences student representatives of KIT). It will be pleased to answer questions relating to studies of geosciences and offers advice from students to students.

The consecutive bachelor’s/master’s program of “Angewandte Geowissenschaften” (applied geosciences) is an accredited program of KIT and, hence, meets international standards.

B. Sc. Applied Geosciences

M. Sc. Applied Geosciences

Standard period of study: 6 semesters

Standard period of study: 4 semesters

Restriction of admission:

  • no restricted admission

Restriction of admission:

  • restricted admission
Details on studies contents and admission Details on studies contents and admission

Information Brochure

Angewandte Geowissenschaften Bachelor/Master of Science (PDF) (in German only)

Qualification Goals of the Program

The bachelor’s program imparts scientific fundamentals, methodological competencies, and subject-related qualifications to solve tasks in the geoscientific areas of geology (including hydro- and engineering geology), mineralogy (including geochemistry and petrology), and geothermal energy and petrophysics. The program is aimed at enabling graduates to successfully pass a master’s program and to apply the acquired knowledge in this professional field.

Graduation and Period of Study

The standard period of study until graduation as a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) is three years. In total, students have to reach 180 credits (according to the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System – ECTS). Individual periods of study may differ from the standard period of study.

Organization of Studies

The bachelor’s program is of modular character. The first four semesters convey the following basic knowledge:

  • Detection and identification of minerals and rocks
  • Rock-forming and mineral-forming processes
  • Methods of geosciences
  • Soil sciences, geophysics
  • Geological and life history
  • Tectonics and geochemistry
  • Hydrogeology
  • Mineral raw materials science

In addition, basic knowledge of mathematics, physics, and chemistry, which is relevant to science and engineering, is an integral component of the program. Prospective students are invited to attend the MINT-Kolleg at KIT (course of preparatory lectures in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering) to repeat the fundamental knowledge required for later studies and to close potential knowledge gaps.

The bachelor’s program also conveys relevant transferable skills in the areas of law, economics, electronic data processing, didactics, rhetorics, or foreign languages.

The last year of the program focuses on the areas of hydrogeology, applied mineralogy, and engineering geology in order to prepare students for the subsequent master’s program.

The bachelor’s program is completed by the bachelor’s thesis in the sixth semester.

Information

Within the framework of the implementation of the Bologna process to establish a European higher education area (EHEA), it is the declared objective of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) that the education of students usually is completed by the master’s degree. The bachelor’s and master’s programs of Angewandte Geowissenschaften (applied geosciences) offered by KIT’s Department of Civil Engineering, Geo- and Environmental Sciences, hence, has to be considered a holistic concept of consecutive structure.

Qualification Goals of the Program

Graduates of the master’s program of Angewandte Geowissenschaften (applied geosciences) are capable of conducting scientific research and of independently planning, conceiving, and executing geoscientific projects, with the knowledge acquired being applied in a task-related manner. Thanks to their extended and in-depth knowledge of geochemistry, geothermal energy, hydrogeology, engineering geology, petrology, mineralogy, and petrophysics as well as structural geology and tectonics, graduates are able to independently apply scientific findings and methods, to develop solutions for geoscientific problems, and to assess their importance and extent. Depending on the electives chosen, graduates possess additional application-oriented know-how in the areas of water technology, soil and rock mechanics, material sciences, and physics.

In addition, graduates can define, describe, and interpret specifics, limits, terminologies, and doctrines in the areas selected. They can describe the current state of the art and develop it further at certain points.

Thanks to their broad knowledge, graduates have a general and in-depth process understanding of geological systems, which enables them to detect relationships and to develop interdisciplinary solutions for geotechnical and environmentally relevant problems.

Graduates are able to study complex problems, information, and requirements in a differentiated way and to independently analyze, compare, and assess them with suitable methods and concepts. They estimate the complexity of and risks associated with the problems, identify improvement potentials, and select sustainable solutions and improvement methods.

Moreover, graduates are able to make responsible and scientifically substantiated decisions and develop and implement innovative ideas. They can do this alone or in a team. Without any problems, they can explain their decisions, discuss them, and exchange opinions with experts on a scientific level.

Graduation and Period of Study

The standard period of study until graduation as a Master of Science (M. Sc.) is two years. In total, 120 credits (according to the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System – ECTS) have to be acquired. The individual periods of study may differ from the standard period of study.

Organization of Studies

The master’s program is of modular character. It consists of mandatory modules, mandatory electives, and elective modules.

Mandatory modules are:

  • Structural geology – general geology
  • Hydrogeology
  • Engineering geology
  • Applied mineralogy

These mandatory modules serve to deepen the basic knowledge and are organized such that they form an entity in terms of contents or methodology.

Students select a specialization from the areas mentioned above. Apart from the corresponding mandatory module, they have to pass one or two mandatory electives and an advanced module. Within this advanced module, a project study has to be made and a seminar lecture has to be given. Optionally, it is also possible to pass an internship (at least four weeks full-time).

Elective modules can be selected freely in the areas of structural geology, hydrogeology, engineering geology, and applied mineralogy. Electives may also be courses offered by related disciplines in the form of a scientific specialization or in neighboring disciplines, e.g. in geophysics, soil mechanics and rock mechanics, hydraulic engineering or geodesy.

Apart from this free choice of mandatory electives and elective modules, it is possible to choose among three specialization profiles within the master’s program:

  1. Hydro- and engineering geology
  2. Mineralogy and geochemistry
  3. Geoenergy and georesources

For details, click Specialization profiles in the master´s program

As part of the studies, students are also obliged to acquire key qualifications or transferable skills.

The program is completed by the master’s thesis after a planned period of work of six months.

Admission

For admission to the master’s program, the following requirements have to be met:

  • A passed bachelor’s degree program or at least equivalent degree program at a university, university of applied sciences or vocational academy, with studies being completed with a minimum of 180 ECTS credits or, alternatively, with a standard period of study of at least three years in the subject of applied geosciences or a related scientific subject.
  • The following minimum achievements in the subjects given below:
    • Achievements in geosciences in the amount of at least 60 ECTS credits.
    • Achievements in chemistry in the amount of at least 10 ECTS credits.
    • Achievements in mathematics, physics, or technical mechanics in the amount of 10 ECTS credits at least.
    • At least another 20 ECTS credits from mathematico-scientific subjects.

The admission committee decides on whether courses can be allocated to the said subjects. The necessary documents and certificates have to be enclosed with the application. If the applicant lacks not more than 30 ECTS credits in one or several of the subjects mentioned above, he/she may still be admitted to the master’s program of Applied Geosciences, provided that he/she undertakes in writing to catch up on the lacking credits in the individual subjects within the first three semesters of the master’s program and in addition to the examinations envisaged by the studies plan until the requirements defined above are met.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Studieninteressierte


Die Geowissenschaften sind ein breites und vielfältiges Fachgebiet. Geowissenschaftler sind u.a. beteiligt und helfen mit, den Klimawandel zu verstehen, Naturgefahren vorherzusagen oder unsere knapper werdenden Ressourcen optimal zu nutzen. So planen und steuern sie die Versorgung mit Rohstoffen und Energie, sorgen für den stabilen Bau von Staudämmen, Straßen, Häusern und Tunneln oder kümmern sich um den Grundwasserschutz, die Abfallentsorgung und Altlasten.

Ganz allgemein beschäftigen sich Geowissenschaftler mit dem System Erde und konzentrieren sich dabei vor allem auf die komplexen Prozesse unter der Erdoberfläche. Neben fundierten naturwissenschaftlichen Inhalten wird u.a. auch Ingenieurwissen im Studium vermittelt. Dass Geowissenschaftler häufig fächerübergreifend und an Themen mit hoher Umweltrelevanz arbeiten, zeichnet sie zusätzlich aus.

Die Breite des Berufs zieht sich nicht nur durch die Arbeitsfelder, von A wie Altlastensanierung bis V wie Vulkanforschung. Auch die Arbeitgeber sind sehr unterschiedlich. Häufig finden Geowissenschaftler/innen bei Ingenieur- und Geobüros eine Stelle (etwa 25% der Absolventen und Absolventinnen). Im Bereich des Öffentlichen Dienstes, also in Ämtern und Behörden, sind knapp 20% beschäftigt. Weitere 20% der Geowissenschaftlerinnen und Geowissenschaftler arbeiten in der Industrie und Wirtschaft (v.a. in Bauindustrie und Rohstoffindustrie). In den Hochschulen und in den Forschungseinrichtungen verbleiben weitere 12 bis 13% der Geowissenschaftlerinnen und Geowissenschaftler. Der Rest der Absolventinnen und Absolventen, etwa 22%, sind fachfremd beschäftigt.

(Auszug aus: „Jobs mit Geowissenschaft: Mehr als nur Steine klopfen“, Stephanie Bissels)

 

Angewandte Geowissenschaften am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Der konsekutive Bachelor-/Master-Studiengang „Angewandte Geowissenschaften“, der zum Wintersemester 2006/07 eingeführt wurde und seitdem die früheren Diplom-Studiengänge Geologie und Mineralogie ersetzt, vermittelt ein breites und gleichzeitig fundiertes Fachwissen in den geowissenschaftlichen Disziplinen Geologie, Mineralogie, Petrologie, Lagerstättenkunde und Geochemie sowie Hydrogeologie, Ingenieurgeologie, Geothermie und Petrophysik. Darüber hinaus sind weitere Nachbardisziplinen wie Geophysik, Geoinformatik und Geodäsie in die Ausbildung integriert. Da es sich um einen mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlich ausgerichteten Studiengang handelt, werden in den ersten Semestern zusätzlich solide Grundlagen in Mathematik, Physik und Chemie vermittelt. Im Masterstudium besteht die Möglichkeit zur Profilbildung in den Richtungen Hydro-/Ingenieurgeologie, Geoenergie/Georessourcen oder Mineralogie/Geochemie.

Mit dem breiten Angebot an Disziplinen, die ihr Fachwissen in Vorlesungen und Übungen sowie bei zahlreichen Laborpraktika, Geländeübungen und Exkursionen im In- und Ausland vermitteln, sind wir am KIT in der Lage, Geowissenschaftler auszubilden, die später selbständig wissenschaftlich arbeiten können und den hohen Anforderungen in unterschiedlichen Berufsfeldern in Industrie, Behörden, Forschung und Lehre gerecht werden.

Die Fachschaft Geowissenschaften Karlsruhe ist ein möglicher Ansprechpartner für Studieninteressierte. Bei Fragen rund ums Studium der Geowissenschaften steht sie gerne zur Verfügung und bietet Studienberatungen für Studieninteressierte aus Sicht von Studierenden an.

Der konsekutive Bachelor-/Master-Studiengang „Angewandte Geowissenschaften“ ist im Rahmen der Systemakkreditierung des KIT akkreditiert und erfüllt damit internationale Standards.

B. Sc. Angewandte Geowissenschaften

M. Sc. Angewandte Geowissenschaften

Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester

Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester

Zulassungsbeschränkung:

  • nicht zulassungsbeschränkt

Zulassungsbeschränkung:

  • zulassungsbeschränkt
Details zu Studieninhalt und Zulassung Details zu Studieninhalt und Zulassung

Infobroschüre

Angewandte Geowissenschaften Bachelor/Master of Science (PDF)

Qualifikationsziele des Studiengangs

Im Bachelorstudium werden die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, Methodenkompetenzen und berufsfeldbezogenen Qualifikationen zur Lösung von Aufgabenstellungen in den geowissenschaftlichen Fachgebieten Geologie (einschließlich Hydro- und Ingenieurgeologie), Mineralogie (einschließlich Geochemie und Petrologie), Geothermie und Petrophysik vermittelt. Ziel des Studiums ist die Fähigkeit, einen Masterstudiengang erfolgreich absolvieren sowie das erworbene Wissen berufsfeldbezogen anwenden zu können.

Abschluss und Studiendauer

3 Jahre Regelstudienzeit bis zum Abschluss als Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.); insgesamt müssen 180 Kreditpunkte (analog dem European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System – ECTS) erworben werden. Die individuelle Studiendauer kann von der Regelstudienzeit abweichen.

Studienaufbau

Der Bachelor-Studiengang ist modular aufgebaut. Die ersten vier Semester vermitteln folgende geowissenschaftliche Grundlagen:

  • Dynamik der Erde
  • Strukturgeologie, Tektonik und Sedimentologie
  • Regionale und historische Geologie
  • Geologische Karten und Profile
  • Geomorphologie und Bodenkunde
  • Erdgeschichte
  • Mineralogie und Petrologie
  • Methoden der Geowissenschaften
  • Geochemie
  • Geoinformatik

Zusätzlich sind natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftliche Grundlagen der Mathematik, der Physik und der Chemie wichtiger Bestandteil des Studiums. Der Besuch des MINT-Kollegs am KIT kann angehenden Studierenden dabei helfen, nötiges Grundlagenwissen in Vorbereitung auf das Studium zu wiederholen und ggf. Wissenslücken zu schließen.

Gegenstand der Ausbildung im letzten Studienjahr sind unter anderem die Fachbereiche Hydrogeologie, Ingenieurgeologie, Angewandte Mineralogie und Geophysik, welche auf das anschließend mögliche Masterstudium vorbereiten.

Das Bachelorstudium endet mit der Bachelor-Arbeit im sechsten Semester.

Information

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) hat sich im Rahmen der Umsetzung des Bolognaprozesses zum Aufbau eines europäischen Hochschulraumes zum Ziel gesetzt, dass am Ende der Studierendenausbildung in der Regel der Mastergrad steht. Der von der KIT-Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften angebotene Bachelor- und Masterstudiengang Angewandte Geowissenschaften ist daher als Gesamtkonzept mit konsekutivem Aufbau zu betrachten.

Qualifikationsziele des Studiengangs

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Masterstudiengangs Angewandte Geowissenschaften sind zur wissenschaftlichen Forschung und zur eigenständigen Planung, Konzeption und Durchführung von geowissenschaftlichen Projekten befähigt und können das erworbene Wissen berufsfeldbezogen anwenden. Durch ihr erweitertes und vertieftes Wissen in den Fächern Geochemie, Geothermie, Hydrogeologie, Ingenieurgeologie, Petrologie, Mineralogie und Petrophysik sowie Strukturgeologie und Tektonik sind sie in der Lage, die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse und Methoden selbstständig anzuwenden, eigenständige Lösungswege für geowissenschaftliche Probleme zu entwickeln sowie deren Bedeutung und Reichweite zu bewerten. Zusätzlich besteht die Möglichkeit, anwendungsorientierte Kenntnisse aus den Bereichen Wassertechnologie, Boden- und Felsmechanik, Materialwissenschaften und Physik zu erwerben.

Darüber hinaus können die Absolventinnen und Absolventen Besonderheiten, Grenzen, Terminologien und Lehrmeinungen in den gewählten Themenbereichen der geowissenschaftlichen Fächer definieren, beschreiben, interpretieren, den aktuellen Forschungsstand wiedergeben sowie punktuell weiterentwickeln.

Durch ihr breites Wissen verfügen sie über ein allgemeines und vertieftes Prozessverständnis von geologischen Systemen, das sie zum Erkennen von Systemzusammenhängen sowie zum Entwickeln von interdisziplinären Lösungen für geotechnische und umweltrelevante Probleme befähigt.

Umfangreiche Probleme sowie Informationen und aktuelle Anforderungen können die Absolventinnen und Absolventen differenziert betrachten und mit geeigneten Methoden und Konzepten selbstständig analysieren, vergleichen und bewerten. Dabei schätzen sie Komplexität und Risiken ab, erkennen Verbesserungspotentiale und wählen nachhaltige Lösungsverfahren und Verbesserungsmethoden aus.

Des Weiteren sind sie in der Lage, verantwortungsvolle und wissenschaftlich fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen sowie innovative Ideen zu entwickeln und diese umsetzen. Ihre Vorgehensweise erfolgt dabei selbstständig oder im Team. Dabei können sie problemlos Entscheidungen erläutern, darüber diskutieren und sich mit Fachvertretern auf wissenschaftlichem Niveau austauschen.

Abschluss und Studiendauer

2 Jahre Regelstudienzeit bis zum Abschluss als Master of Science (M.Sc.); insgesamt müssen 120 Kreditpunkte (analog dem European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System – ECTS) erworben werden. Die individuelle Studiendauer kann von der Regelstudienzeit abweichen.

Studienaufbau

Der Masterstudiengang ist modular aufgebaut und gliedert sich in Pflicht- und Wahlpflicht-Module.

Die Pflichtmodule dienen der Basisvertiefung und sind so aufgebaut, dass sie entweder eine überwiegend inhaltliche oder methodische Einheit bilden. Sie umfassen Numerische Methoden in den Geowissenschaften, Kartierkurs- und Geodatenverarbeitung und eine Projektstudie mit Seminarvortrag.Wahlweise kann auch ein Berufspraktikum (min. 4-wöchig Vollzeit) absolviert werden.

Wahlpflichtmodule können aus den Bereichen Geologie, Mineralogie und Petrologie, Geochemie und Lagerstättenkunde, Hydrogeologie, Ingenieurgeologie, Geothermie und Petrophysik gewählt werden. Darüber hinaus können auch Veranstaltungen aus den Geowissenschaften nahestehenden Disziplinen wie z.B. in Geophysik, Boden- und Felsmechanik, Wasserbau oder Geodäsie belegt werden.

Neben der freien Zusammenstellung von Wahlpflicht-Modulen besteht überdies die Möglichkeit, innerhalb des Master-Studiums zwischen drei Vertiefungs-Profilen zu wählen:

  1. Hydro- & Ingenieurgeologie
  2. Mineralogie & Geochemie
  3. GeoEnergie & GeoRessourcen

Näheres hierzu unter: Profile im Master-Studium

Teil des Studiums ist auch der Erwerb von Schlüssel- bzw. überfachlichen Qualifikationen.

Der Studiengang endet mit der Masterarbeit, für die eine Bearbeitungszeit von sechs Monaten vorgesehen ist.

Zulassung

Voraussetzungen für den Zugang zum Masterstudium sind:

  • ein überdurchschnittlicher Bachelorabschluss oder mindestens gleichwertiger berufsqualifizierter Abschluss an einer Universität, Fachhochschule oder Berufsakademie bzw. Dualen Hochschule im Fach Angewandte Geowissenschaften oder einem verwandten, naturwissenschaftlichen Fachgebiet, wobei das Studium mit einem Mindestumfang von 180 ECTS-Punkten, alternativ mit mindestens dreijähriger Regelstudienzeit absolviert worden sein muss
  • folgende Mindestleistungen in den nachfolgend genannten Fächern:
    1. Leistungen in Geowissenschaften im Umfang von mindestens 60 ECTS-Punkten
    2. Leistungen in Chemie im Umfang von mindestens 10 ECTS-Punkten
    3. Leistungen in Mathematik, Physik oder Technische Mechanik im Umfang von insgesamt mindestens 15 ECTS-Punkten
    4. mindestens weitere 20 ECTS-Punkte aus den mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern.

Ob einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen zu den genannten Fächern zugeordnet werden können, entscheidet die Zulassungs- und Auswahlkommission. Die hierfür notwendigen Unterlagen und Nachweise sind der Bewerbung beizulegen. Fehlen dem Bewerber in einem oder mehreren der zuvor genannten Fächer bis zu insgesamt 30 ECTS-Leistungspunkte, kann er dennoch zum Masterstudiengang Angewandte Geowissenschaften zugelassen werden, wenn er sich schriftlich verpflichtet, die ihm in den einzelnen Fächern fehlenden Leistungen bis zum Erreichen des zuvor genannten Leistungsumfangs innerhalb der ersten zwei Semester des Masterstudiengangs zusätzlich zu den im Studienplan vorgesehenen Prüfungen in der jeweils gültigen Fassung nachzuholen.

Der Masterstudiengang ist zudem zulassungsbeschränkt. Übersteigt die Anzahl der Bewerber, welche die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen, die Anzahl der zur Verfügung stehenden Studienplätze, so findet ein Auswahlverfahren statt. Die Auswahl erfolgt anhand der Abschluss-Note der Bachelorprüfung sowie sonstiger wissenschaftlicher und beruflicher Leistungen.

Nähere Informationen finden sich in der Satzung für das hochschuleigene Zugangs- und Auswahlverfahren im Masterstudiengang Angewandte Geowissenschaften.