Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

World Karst Aquifer Mapping Project (WOKAM)

World Karst Aquifer Mapping Project (WOKAM)
Contact:

Prof. Dr. Nico Goldscheider
Dipl.-Geol. Chen Zhao

Links:
Funding:

International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH)

Start date:2012 
End date:2016 

Summary

Abbildung WOKAM
Excerpt from the World Karst Aquifer Map (work in progress): Distribution of carbonate rocks in Europe according to the Global Lithological Map by Hartmann & Moosdorf.

 

Carbonate rocks, such as limestone and dolomite, form about 12 % of the global land surface. Most of these rocks are karstified, i.e., a part of the fractures are enlarged by chemical dissolution to a network of conduits and caves that are crucial for water circulation. It is estimated that 25 % of the global population are supplied by drinking water from karst.

The goal of this project is to establish the first karst aquifer world map that will not only display carbonate rock outcrops but also deep and confined karst aquifers, as well as important karst springs and caves. This map will complement the existing groundwater resources world map.

This project is a joint effort of the IAH karst commission. Several international karst experts contribute as project advisors, such as Michel Bakalowicz (France), George Veni (USA), Zoran Stevanovic (Serbia), David Drew (Ireland) and Alexander Klimchouk (Ukraine), as well as members of the WHYMAP team and Jens Hartmann and Nils Moosdorf who created the global lithological map.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

World Karst Aquifer Mapping Project (WOKAM): Erstellung einer Welt-Karst-Aquifer-Karte

World Karst Aquifer Mapping Project (WOKAM): Erstellung einer Welt-Karst-Aquifer-Karte
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Nico Goldscheider
Dr. Chen Zhao

Links:
Förderung:

International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH)

Starttermin:2012 
Endtermin:2016 

Projektbeschreibung

Abbildung WOKAM
Ausschnitt aus der im Entstehen begriffenen Welt-Karst-Aquifer-Karte. Dargestellt ist die Verbreitung von Carbonatgesteinen in Europa nach der lithologische Weltkarte von Hartmann & Moosdorf.

 

Carbonatgesteine, wie Kalkstein und Dolomit, bilden global etwa 12 % der Landoberfläche. Die meisten dieser Gesteine sind verkarstet, das heißt, dass ein Teil der Klüfte durch Lösungsprozesse zu Spalten, Röhren und Höhlen erweitert wurde, die für die Wasserbewegung eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Schätzungsweise 25 % der Weltbevölkerung bezieht Trinkwasser aus Karstaquiferen.

Ziel dieses Projektes ist es, eine Weltkarte der Karst-Grundwasserleiter zu erstellen. Darauf sollen nicht nur die anstehenden Carbonatgesteine, sondern auch die tiefen und überdeckten Karstaquifere dargestellt werden, sowie wichtige Karstquellen und Höhlen. Die Karst-Aquifer-Karte soll die bereits existierende Grundwasser-Weltkarte (WHYMAP) ergänzen.

Es handelt sich um ein Projekt der IAH Karst Commission, an dem zahlreiche internationale Karst-Experten beteiligt sind, u.a. Michel Bakalowicz (Frankreich), George Veni (USA), Zoran Stevanovic (Serbien), David Drew (Irland) und Alexander Klimchouk (Ukraine), sowie Vertreter des WHYMAP-Teams und die Ersteller der lithologischen Weltkarte, Jens Hartmann und Nils Moosdorf.