Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ResKin – Reaction kinetics in reservoir rocks: Upscaling and modelling

ResKin – Reaction kinetics in reservoir rocks: Upscaling and modelling
Contact:Prof. Dr. Philipp Blum (KIT), Prof. Dr. Christoph Butscher (TU Freiberg), M. Sc. Sina Hale (KIT)
Funding:Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), program “Geological Research for Sustainability (GEO:N)” of the BMBF’s framework program “Research for Sustainable Development (FONA3)”
Partner:University of Bremen (Prof. Dr. Andreas Lüttge, Dr. Cornelius Fischer), University of Greifswald (Prof. Dr. Laurence Warr, Dr. Georg Grathoff), Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics ITWM (Prof. Dr. Oleg Iliev), Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (Prof. Dr. Michael Kersten, Dr. Frieder Enzmann)
Start date:01.07.2017
End date:30.06.2020

The joint research project ResKin investigates the quantitative correlation between reaction kinetics of transport processes on atomic scale and porosity or permeability changes due to mineral dissolution. In particular, the development of a reactive transport model, which can be scaled up from nano to core scale, will be enabled. It can be used for long-term utilization and safety analyses of reservoir rocks. The focus here is on the storage of gases (for example H2) in the subsurface, whereby the prediction of porosity and permeability changes in reservoir or cap rocks should be made possible.


The overall project is made up of five work packages (WP). Experimental studies on fluid-rock interactions on core scale are the key issue of the WP2, which is represented by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Calcite-cemented Rotliegend sandstones (reservoir rocks of the North German Basin, see Fig. 1) as well as cap rocks are used as sample material for the laboratory tests. The aim of the WP2 is to determine reaction rates for the dissolution of calcite in the pore space of the reservoir rock. The calcite system is well suited as an example system for the laboratory experiments due to extensive preliminary investigations (e.g. stability fields). Calcite is also one of the most important minerals in reservoir rocks in addition to feldspars, sulfides and sulfates. Many studies regarding geological CO2 storage focus on calcite dissolution, but no conclusions can be drawn about the scalability of the reaction kinetics, what is the aim of the joint research project ResKin.

 

 

Figure 1: Rotliegend sandstone (gas reservoir rock) of the Parchim Formation of the North German Basin. The fluvial (A) and aeolian (B-J) facies are sampled in the form of cylindrical core plugs.

 

High-pressure, high-temperature experiments with single- or multi-phase and highly saline fluids, which are carried out at the KIT over a time period of several days to weeks, allow the investigation of dissolution processes in the pore space of the sedimentary rocks under reservoir conditions (temperatures up to 200 °C, pressures up to 200 bar). The reaction kinetics of advective transport processes as a function of pressure, temperature, pH, fluid composition and flow rate will be investigated using a flow reactor (ICARE4), while reaction rates of diffuse transport processes can be determined in a batch autoclave.

The determination of the boundary conditions in the run-up to the tests is based on equilibrium calculations (e.g. PhreeqC, GEMS). By performing several test series with systematic variation of boundary conditions (including pressure, temperature and fluid chemistry), their influence on the detected reaction rates as well as on the temporal change of porosity or permeability can be quantified. Upon completion of the experiments, these are also simulated by numerical modeling (e.g. PhreeqC, PHT3D). The observed reaction rates on core scale, porosity and permeability changes as well as changes in mineral and fluid composition are finally used as a supplement to the measurements of the other project partners (on nm- and μm-scale) for the upscaling of mechanistic reaction models.

Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften

ResKin – Reaktionskinetik in Reservoirgesteinen: Anwendungsbereite Aufskalierung und Modellierung

  • Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr. Philipp Blum (KIT), Prof. Dr. Christoph Butscher (TU Freiberg), M. Sc. Sina Hale (KIT)
  • Förderung: Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), Fachprogramm „Geoforschung für Nachhaltigkeit (GEO:N)“ im BMBF-Rahmenprogramm „Forschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (FONA3)“
  • Partner: Universität Bremen (Prof. Dr. Andreas Lüttge, Dr. Cornelius Fischer), Universität Greifswald (Prof. Dr. Laurence Warr, Dr. Georg Grathoff), Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM (Prof. Dr. Oleg Iliev), Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz (Prof. Dr. Michael Kersten, Dr. Frieder Enzmann)
  • Starttermin: 01.07.2017
  • Endtermin: 30.06.2020

Das Verbundprojekt ResKin untersucht den quantitativen Zusammenhang zwischen der Reaktionskinetik von Transportprozessen auf der atomaren Skala und Porositäts- bzw. Permeabilitätsänderungen als Folge von Mineralauflösung. Insbesondere wird die Entwicklung eines von der Nano- bis zur Bohrkernskala aufskalierbaren reaktiven Transportmodells angestrebt, das für eine langfristige Nutzungs- und Sicherheitsanalyse von Reservoirgesteinen herangezogen werden kann. Im Fokus steht dabei die Speicherung von Gasen (z.B. H2) im Untergrund, wobei die Vorhersage von Porositäts- und Permeabilitätsänderungen in Reservoir- oder Deckschichtgesteinen ermöglicht werden soll.


Das Gesamtprojekt setzt sich aus insgesamt fünf Arbeitspaketen (AP) zusammen. Experimentelle Arbeiten im Zusammenhang mit Fluid-Gesteins-Wechselwirkungen auf der Bohrkernskala bilden den Schwerpunkt des AP2, welches durch das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) repräsentiert wird. Als Probematerial für die Laborversuche dienen calcitzementierte Rotliegend-Sandsteine (Reservoirgesteine des Norddeutschen Beckens, vgl. Abb. 1) sowie Deckschichtgesteine. Ziel der Arbeiten am KIT ist es, Reaktionsraten für die Lösung des Calcitzements im Porenraum des Reservoirgesteins experimentell zu bestimmen. Das Calcit-System ist aufgrund umfangreicher Voruntersuchungen (z.B. Stabilitätsfelder) gut als Beispielsystem für die Laborexperimente geeignet. Außerdem stellt Calcit neben Feldspäten, Sulfiden und Sulfaten eines der wichtigsten Minerale in Reservoirgesteinen dar. Bereits im Hinblick auf die geologische CO2-Speicherung steht die Calcit-Lösung im Fokus vieler Arbeiten, jedoch lassen sich daraus keine Aussagen hinsichtlich der Skalierbarkeit der Reaktionskinetik ableiten, was Ziel des Gesamtprojektes ResKin ist.

 

Abbildung 1: Rotliegend-Sandstein (Gasspeichergestein) der Parchim-Formation des Norddeutschen Beckens. Die Beprobung der fluviatilen (A) und äolischen (B-J) Fazies erfolgt in Form von zylindrischen „Core Plugs“.

Die am KIT durchführbaren Hochdruck-Hochtemperatur-Experimente mit ein- oder mehrphasigen hochsalinaren Fluiden, die sich über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Tagen bis Wochen erstrecken, ermöglichen die Untersuchung von Lösungsprozessen im Porenraum der Sedimentgesteine unter Reservoirbedingungen (Temperaturen bis 200 °C, Drücke bis 200 bar). Die Reaktionskinetik advektiver Transportprozesse in Abhängigkeit von Druck, Temperatur, pH-Wert, Fluidzusammensetzung und Durchflussrate soll mithilfe einer Durchflussreaktoranlage (ICARE4) untersucht werden, während Reaktionsraten diffusiver Transportprozesse in einem Batch-Autoklaven ermittelt werden können.


Die Festlegung der Randbedingungen im Vorfeld der Versuche erfolgt auf Basis von Gleichgewichtskalkulationen (z.B. PhreeqC, GEMS). Durch mehrere Versuchsreihen mit systematischer Variation der Randbedingungen (u.a. Druck, Temperatur und Fluidchemismus) kann ihr Einfluss auf die ermittelten Reaktionsraten sowie auf die zeitliche Änderung von Porosität bzw. Permeabilität quantifiziert werden. Nach Abschluss der Experimente werden diese zudem durch numerische Modellierung (z.B. PhreeqC, PHT3D) simuliert. Die am KIT auf der Bohrkernskala beobachteten Reaktionsraten, Porositäts- bzw. Permeabilitätsänderungen sowie Änderungen der Mineral- und Fluidzusammensetzung werden schließlich ergänzend zu den Messungen der anderen Projektpartner (nm- und µm-Skala) für die Aufskalierung mechanistischer Reaktionsmodelle herangezogen.