Institute of Applied Geosciences

Master's thesis

The master's thesis should show that students are able to work on a problem from their field of study independently and within a limited time according to scientific methods. The scope of the master thesis corresponds to 30 credit points.

Futher information on the Master's thesis can be found in the information sheet for the preparation of Master's theses.

 

Topics

 

Topics can be requested directly from the departments or are listed on the website of the respective department:

 

Registration and requirements

 

Depending on the valid study and examination regulations, certain requirements apply for admission to the Master's thesis (see information sheet for the preparation of Master's theses).

For the admission of the Master thesis the so-called green slip of paper has to be filled in. Among other things, the provisional German and English title of the thesis is entered there. Without presentation of the green slip to the supervisor, the Master thesis may not be started.

Certification of Admission for thesis (green slip of paper)

Together with the respective supervisors, the form for the registration of the Master's thesis is filled out and submitted to the examination board.

Form for registration of the master's thesis

 

Template

Template for the front page of your master's thesis

KIT Logo (This can be used - not a must.)

IMPORTANT: No external logo may appear on the thesis, even if the work was done in a company. Only the official registered supervisors/reviewers will be mentioned on the cover sheet, all further details can be included in the acknowledgement.

Declaration of Independence

The Master's thesis has to be accompanied by a signed declaration in which the student assures that the thesis was written independently and that no sources and aids other than those indicated were used, that the passages taken over literally or in content were marked as such, and that the KIT statutes for ensuring good scientific practice were followed.

Further information on the master thesis can be found in the declaration sheet for the preparation og a master's thesis.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Masterarbeiten

Die Masterarbeit soll zeigen, dass die Studierenden in der Lage sind, ein Problem aus ihrem Studienfach selbstständig und in begrenzter Zeit nach wissenschaftlichen Methoden zu bearbeiten. Der Umfang der Masterarbeit entspricht 30 Leistungspunkten.

Weitere Informationen zur Masterarbeit finden sich im Merkblatt für die Anfertigung von Masterarbeiten.

 

Themen

Themen der Fachbereiche:

Darüber hinaus empfiehlt es sich, auch direkt mit den Dozenten in Kontakt zu treten und sich über mögliche Arbeiten zu informieren oder auszutauschen.

 

Anmeldung und Voraussetzungen

Für die Zulassung zur Masterarbeit gelten je nach gültiger Studien- und Prüfungsordnung bestimmte Voraussetzungen (siehe Merkblatt für die Anfertigung von Masterarbeiten).

Für die Zulassung der Masterarbeit muss der sogenannte grüne Zettel ausgefüllt werden. Dort wird u.a. der vorläufige deutsche und englische Titel der Arbeit eingetragen. Ohne Vorlage des grünen Scheins beim Betreuer darf nicht mit der Masterarbeit begonnen werden.

Zulassungsbescheinigung für die Abschlussarbeit (grüner Zettel)

Mit den jeweiligen Betreuern wird das Formular zur Anmeldung der Masterarbeit ausgefüllt und bei der Prüfungskommission eingereicht.

Formular zur Anmeldung der Masterarbeit

 

Vorlage

Vorlage zur Erstellung der Titelseite Ihrer Masterarbeit

KIT Logo (Dieses kann verwendet werden - kein Muss.)

WICHTIG: Auf der Abschlussarbeit darf kein externes Logo erscheinen, auch nicht wenn die Arbeit in einem Unternehmen stattgefunden hat. Nur die offiziellen angemeldeten Betreuer/Gutachter werden auf dem Deckblatt erwähnt, alle weiteren Details können in die Danksagung aufgenommen werden.  

Eigenständigkeitserklärung

Die Masterarbeit ist mit einer unterschriebenen Erklärung zu versehen, in welcher der/die Studierende versichert, dass die Arbeit selbstständig verfasst wurde und keine anderen als die angegebenen Quellen und Hilfsmittel benutzt wurden, die wörtlich oder inhaltlich übernommenen Stellen als solche kenntlich gemacht und die Satzung des KIT zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis in der gültigen Fassung beachtet wurde.

Weitere Informationen zur Masterarbeit finden sich im Merkblatt für die Anfertigung von Masterarbeiten.