Institute of Applied Geosciences

Project study

The aim of the project study is to work on a given problem according to your own time and resource planning. The examination is carried out by elaborating the results in a project report followed by a presentation in a lecture. The amount of work corresponds to about 150h (5 ECTS). Furthermore a course on the basics of project management is part of the project study.

Current offered project studies can be found on the respective pages of the different departments:

Internship

Students of the Master programme Applied Geosciences from SPO 2016 can complete a minimum of 4 weeks (full-time) professional internship as an alternative to the project study. Subsequently, a practical course report is to be prepared as an equivalent to the project study and a presentation (~20min) is to be given.

The student is responsible for the acquisition and organization of the internship place. The following requirements apply for recognition:

  1. Before starting the internship, the student will independently find a lecturer who is authorised to conduct examinations and who will confirm the geoscientific relevance of the course on the basis of a written work plan (content, time frame) agreed with the company/institution concerned and who will be responsible for grading the final report and presentation.
  2. It is obligatory to submit a certificate of internship from the internship office stating the completed internship, duration and field of activity.

A selection of companies, in which professional internships with a geoscientific background have been completed in the past, can give you the respective secretariats of the departments or the corresponding lecturers.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Projektstudie

Ziel der Projektstudie ist die Bearbeitung einer gegebenen Problemstellung nach eigener Zeit- und Ressourcenplanung. Die Prüfungsleistung erfolgt über die Ausarbeitung der Ergebnisse in einem Projektbericht mit anschließender Präsentation im Rahmen eines Vortrags. Der Arbeitsaufwand entspricht etwa 150h (5 ECTS). Weiterhin ist eine Lehrveranstaltung zu den Grundlagen des Projektmanagements Teil der Projektstudie.

Aktuell angebotene Projektstudien finden Sie auf den jeweiligen Seiten der unterschiedlichen Abteilungen:

  • Mineralogie & Petrologie

Berufspraktikum

Studierende des Master-Studiengangs Angewandte Geowissenschaften ab SPO 2016 können alternativ zur Projektstudie ein mind. 4-wöchiges (Vollzeit) Berufspraktikum absolvieren. Im Anschluss ist äquivalent zur Projektstudie als Prüfungsleistung ein Praktikumsbericht anzufertigen und eine Präsentation (~20min) zu halten.

Der/die Studierende ist für die Akquisition und Organisation des Praktikumsplatzes selbst verantwortlich. Für die Anerkennung gelten folgende Voraussetzungen:

  1. Der/die Studierende sucht sich vor Antritt des Praktikums eigenständig einen prüfungsberechtigten Dozenten, welcher die geowissenschaftliche Relevanz aufgrund der Vorlage eines mit der betreffenden Firma/Institution abgestimmten schriftlichen Arbeitsplanes (Inhalt, zeitlicher Rahmen) bestätigt und für die Benotung des abschließenden Berichtes und der Präsentation verantwortlich ist.
  2. Die Abgabe einer Praktikumsbescheinigung der Praktikumsstelle mit Angabe des abgeleisteten Praktikums, Dauer und Tätigkeitsbereich ist verpflichtend.

Eine Auswahl an Unternehmen, in denen in der Vergangenheit Berufspraktika mit einem geowissenschaftlichen Hintergrund absolviert wurden, können Ihnen die jeweiligen Sekretariate der Abteilungen oder auch die entsprechenden Dozenten geben.