Organization of the Institute

The Boards

The Institute of Applied Geoscience (AGW) at KIT has a cooperative institute managment with an elected speaker. The institute has the following boards:

  • Board of Directors (§14)
  • Institute Staff Board (ILA) (§5)
  • Institute Convention (§4)
  • Employee Convention (§17)

Details on the organization are given in the Institute Order. It was implented on 22.11.2019 and sets aside the previous institute order from 22.1.2020 (Artikel 1 52.). The Institute AGW is an institute type 2a (§1) according the the institute order.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of the heads of the seven Chairs of the Institute of Applied Geosciences (AGW), the Chairman of the Institute Staff Board (ILA) is an invited guest.

Each Chair acts independently financially and independently heads a group of researchers and staff. Besides independent research and teaching this includes independent finances, human resources managment and utilization of the allocated resources, which he/she takes responsibility for toward the Head of Division (Bereichsleiter/in) (§15).

The Board of Directors elects a speaker and a deputy (§18). The Chairs with their independent organization units (OE) (Professuren, engl. Chairs) of the institute are:

Geochemistry & Economic Geology
Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb, deputy apl. Prof. Stefan Norra
Geothermal Energy & Reservoir Technology Prof. Dr. Thomas Kohl, deputy Dr. Emmanuel Gaucher
Hydrogeology Prof. Dr. Nico Goldscheider, deputy Dr. Tanja Liesch
Engineering Geology Prof. Dr. Philipp Blum (Deputy Speaker of the Board of Directors), deputy PD Dr. Kathrin Menberg
Prof. Dr. Armin Zeh, deputy apl. Prof. Kirsten Drüppel
Technical Petrophysics
Prof. Dr. Frank Schilling, deputy Dr. Birgit Müller
Structural Geology & Tectonics
Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers (Speaker of the Board of Directors), deputy apl. Prof. Agnes Kontny
Representative of the ILA Kevin Altinger, Kathrin Menberg

The AGW managing directors:

name from  to
Prof. Dr. Nico Goldscheider 2015 2019
Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers 2019 2023
Prof. Dr. Frank Schilling 2023  

The election is for two years and starts Oct 1st.

Institute staff board ILA

The ILA consists of the Board of Directors and ten employeer representatives, which are not members of the Board of Directors. Half of the employee representatives are elevted, the other half send out by the cooperative institute management (§5). 

Elected and send members of the ILA until January 2026 are:

Kathrin Meberg Chairwoman, Engineering Geology
Kevin Altinger Chairman, Zentralwerkstatt
Mirja Lohkamp-Schmitz Petrology
Fabienne Doll Hydrogeology
Benjamin Busch Structural Geology & Tectonics
Elisabeth Eiche Geochemistry & Economic Geology
Teba Gil Diaz  Geochemistry & Economic Geology
Marc Ohmer Hydrogeology
Fabian Nitschke Geothermal Energy & Reservoir Technology
Marcel Schulz Technical Petrophysics

The responsibilites of the ILA are noted in §6. The ILA advises the decision taking of the Board of Directors, especially

  • the setup of reseach- and deveopment programs for the institute and the planning of resources thereof;
  • the implementation of research- and development programs;
  • the measures and implemenation for the execution of performance monitoring of academic and technical work;
  • the disorganization or fundamental restructuring of (part-)Institutes;
  • the setup of organisation plans;
  • the fundamentals of advanced training of employees.

The Board of Directors informs the ILA on all relevant matters of the institute. Thus the Chairman of the ILA (or the deputy) is a guest of the board of directors meetings.

The ILA shall meet regularly, at least once per half-year. Decision is with simple majority, if at least half of the members and at least one elected members are present.

All employees of the institute are heartly welcomed to suggest any ideas to the ILA.

Examination Committee

The Examination Committee is responsible for the study relevant aspects of the Institute.

Chairman Prof. Dr. Armin Zeh
Deputy chairman Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
from the full professors Prof Dr. Nico Goldscheider
from the field of scientific staff PD Dr. Elisabeth Eiche
  PD Dr. Kathrin Menberg
from the field of student representatives  
guest Lisa Schäfer

Further tasks at the Institute AGW

Laboratory/Security Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
AGW room representative Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
Head of Institute's Laboratory Board PD Dr. Elisabeth Eiche

Faculty Council

Teaching topics and appointments of professors are coordinated in the Faculty of Construction-Geo-Environment BGU. Voting members of the faculty council are currently:

elected representatives  Prof. Dr. Frank Schilling (former Dean) 
elected representatives  Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers 
elected representatives  Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
from the  scientific staff Dr. Elisabeth Eiche
as dean of studies and convention representative of the scientific employees in the Senate Prof. Dr. Stefan Norra

PhD Committee

The committee consists of the man supervisor, at least one additional supervisor and the examination committees of professors.

Divison Council

The Council of Division IV "Natural and Built Environment" decides on matters that go beyond the faculty. Area IV combines research, teaching, and innovation of the KIT faculties of Architecture and Civil Engineering, Geo- and Environmental Sciences. Furthermore, the three Helmholtz programmes "Atmosphere and Climate", "Renewable Energies" and "Energy Efficiency, Materials and Resources" as well as the four Institutes for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-AAF, IMK-ASF, IMK-IFU and IMK-TRO) form the supporting pillars of this field. Currently, the members of the division council are from the AGW:

from the field of professors Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
from the field of professors Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers
as a deputy Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb

Centre for Climate and Environment

Scientific Spokesperson KIT-Center Climate and Environment Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers
Topic Speaker Georesources Center Climate and Environment Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
Deputy Topic Speaker Prof. Dr. Philipp Blum
Energy Center Prof. Dr. Frank Schilling
POF IV Prof. Dr. Frank Schilling
ThinkTank Industrial Resource Strategies, Speaker Steering Committee Prof. Dr. Jochen Kolb
State Agency for Geothermal Research  Dr. Birgit Müller

please note the most recent updates on the German website