Institute of Applied Geosciences

Postponed start of summer semester due to corona

Due to the outbreak of the corona virus, the start of the semester is postponed. This website is only updated irregularly. Therefore please follow KIT's websites for further information:

The KIT FAQ on Handling the Coronavirus

The Recommendations of the KIT Medical Service

The Federal public health Robert Koch Institute 

The global coronavirus map of John Hopkins University

10.3.2020 New Corona Virus: Special Regulations Relating to Withdrawals from Controls of Success and the Necessary Extensions of Deadlines

a outline from our Vice-President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs' message. Please refer to his original email for full details and time frame:

"In view of the special situation resulting from the new Corona virus (SARS-CoV-2), students in the current examination phase are enabled to withdraw from all controls of success at short written notice, i.e. until directly before a control of success, without having to indicate any reasons. Such deregistration can be made by electronic mail to the responsible examiner. To prevent too high workloads of practitioners, no medical certificate is required. Please note:
1. Use your KIT email address for deregistration in order to enable clear and reliable allocation.
2. Indicate your student ID number as well as the name(s) and number(s) of the control(s) of success from which you would like to withdraw.
3. Your short-term deregistration has to be processed manually in the Campus Management System and, hence, will be made with a certain delay due to the high number of cases to be expected.
4. If possible, you can deregister from the control of success on your own in the Campus Management System. In this case, do not send the deregistration by email.
If you are sick or not able to participate in an examination as a result of a quarantine or other consequences, but need a prompt alternate date for important reasons, contact the responsible Examination Committee.
As regards the deadline for passing the orientation examination, the following exceptional rule shall apply: Students, who do not participate in an orientation examination foreseen in the studies plan during the period from March 13, 2020 to May 12, 2020 will be granted an extension of the deadline by one semester upon request to the Examination Committee responsible for this examination. The same shall apply when the maximum studies duration or the deadline of a reexamination expires during this period.
Information on the Corona virus is continuously provided by KIT on its homepage. There, you will also find answers to frequently asked questions relating to the new Corona virus, e.g. potential symptoms of an infection and recommendations on what to do in case of symptoms.
Again, we would like you to note that we have established a hotline for general questions at +49 721 608 82222 that can be reached on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 10 to 12 hrs and on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 13.30 to 15 hrs. More information relating to the Corona virus can be found on the website of the Crisis Unit (http://www.kit.edu/kit/english/25911.php)."

Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften

Verzögerter Semesterstart durch Corona Virus

Aufgrund des Corona Virus verzögert sich der Semesterstart. Bitte verfolgen Sie die aktuellen Hinweise des KIT:

Das FAQ des KIT zum Umgang mit dem Coronavirus

Die Empfehlungen des Medizinischen Dienstes des KIT

Das Robert Koch Institut

Die globale Coronavirus-Karte der John Hopkins University

10.3.2020 Neues Coronavirus: Sonderregelungen zu Abmeldungen von Erfolgskontrollen und zu dadurch erforderlichen Fristverlängerungen

Ein Auszug des Briefs des Vizepräsidenten für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten an unsere Studierenden. Bitte schauen Sie ihr Postfach und verfolgen Sie die aktuelle Situation hinsichtlich aktueller Richtlinien und Fristen:

"Aufgrund der besonderen Situation im Hinblick auf das neue Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) wird nun in der aktuellen Prüfungsphase abweichend davon die Möglichkeit eröffnet, sich von allen Erfolgskontrollen ohne Angabe von Gründen auch kurzfristig, d. h. bis unmittelbar vor einer Erfolgskontrolle, von dieser schriftlich abzumelden. Eine solche Abmeldung kann per E-Mail an den/die zuständige/n Prüfer/in erfolgen. Es ist kein ärztliches Attest erforderlich, um eine Überlastung der Arztpraxen zu vermeiden. Bitte beachten Sie dabei folgende Punkte:
1. Verwenden Sie für die Abmeldung Ihre KIT-E-Mail-Adresse, um eine eindeutige und sichere Zu-ordnung zu ermöglichen.
2. Geben Sie Ihre Matrikelnummer sowie den Namen sowie Nummer der Erfolgskontrolle(n) an, von der bzw. denen Sie sich abmelden möchten.
3. Die kurzfristige Abmeldung muss im Campusmanagementsystem manuell bearbeitet werden und wird aufgrund einer zu erwartenden hohen Fallzahl verzögert erfolgen.
4. Sofern noch möglich, ist eine Abmeldung von der jeweiligen Erfolgskontrolle seitens der Kandi-datin bzw. des Kandidaten selbstständig im Campusmanagementsystem durchzuführen – bitte sehen Sie in diesen Fällen von einer Abmeldung per E-Mail ab.
Sofern Sie erkrankt sind, durch Quarantäne und andere Folgen nicht an einer Prüfung teilnehmen können und Sie aus gewichtigen Gründen auf einen zeitnahen Ersatztermin angewiesen sind, wenden Sie sich mit Ihrem Anliegen bitte an den zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss.
Bezüglich der Frist zur Ablegung der Orientierungsprüfung wird folgende Ausnahmeregelung festgelegt: Studierende, die im Zeitraum 13.3.2020 bis 12.05.2020 an einer im Studienplan vorgesehenen Orientierungsprüfung nicht teilnehmen, erhalten auf Antrag an den zu-ständigen Prüfungsausschuss für die Ablegung dieser Prüfung eine Fristverlängerung um ein Semester. Entsprechendes gilt beim Überschreiten der Studienhöchstdauer oder der Wie-derholungsprüfungsfrist in diesem Zeitraum.
Das KIT informiert auf der Internetseite des KIT kontinuierlich zu diesem Thema. Dort finden Sie zudem Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu dem neuen Coronavirus wie z. B. mögliche Symp-tome einer Erkrankung sowie Handlungsempfehlungen für den Fall, dass Sie Symptome bei sich erkennen.
Wir möchten an dieser Stelle auch noch einmal drauf hinweisen, dass für allgemeine Fragen eine Hotline unter der Telefonnummer +49 721 608 82222 zu folgenden Zeiten zur Verfügung steht: Mo-tag, Mittwoch und Freitag von 10 bis 12 Uhr und Dienstag und Donnerstag von 13:30 bis 15 Uhr. Weitere Informationen zum Umgang mit dem Coronavirus finden Sie auf den Seiten des Krisenstabes unter https://www.kit.edu/kit/25911.php ."